Cutpurse Flight


Each in bird a hive to grow,
to tell of quiets lest profound,
to make the bee-buzz brim,
                                             that,
waft-like swoon of beak to bulb, a brief repast,
in ground, inside; an inescapable palette
                                             that,
even as the white bloom of flies
in saffron beds, be bold be, of the bee
                                             dear bird,
you swivel, darling, there above the yew;
in a field that swells with the burst of grain,
dipped and then green after a week of un-taste.
                    We bow,
                                we bow,
                                             below we bow –
blest be you for cutpurse flight.

© Eve Redwater 2012


                                                                                                    
[Posted for DVersepoets "Poetics: New view for you", where we were tasked to write a poem from a pool of beautiful photographs by Tracey Grumbach. I hope you enjoy my contribution today!]

58 thoughts on “Cutpurse Flight

  1. Beautiful language you’ve used here. I love how you’ve interpreted the action in the photo..quite a capture.

  2. Great! I like how we had a totally different take on the same picture. I could feel your respect for birds, and in one of your other poems I could find you had birds come on your windowsill. We found a lost, half-frozen budgerigar on our balcony two weeks ago and had to take care of her… so now I feel more compassion for birds than ever! I was touched by your poem!

    • I think it’s wonderful how everyone interprets the same pictures in their own way – it’s what makes our minds individual and unique – which I think is great!

      Poor budgerigar! I hope she got better! Thank you for sharing and commenting here. :D x

  3. I just figured out how to leave a comment on your blog, finally. :)
    This is beautiful. Gentle in its flow and so filled with lovely, images of birds both in flight and on the ground.
    Thanks for finding me and for such a lovely comment too.

  4. I absolutely love your most recent poems, where you elevate the language, the words, into something unique. I hesitate to call these experimental poems, because your themes stand out, and your narrative is clear, but it’s the *way* you bend the words, syllables, letters, to squeeze as much residual meaning as you can out of them – that’s what’s impressive.

    • Thank you ever so much Samuel! I’m always impressed by your work and talent, so it makes me really happy that you like my poetry. :) I’m still working towards my ‘voice’, but hopefully I’m getting somewhere!

  5. Hi, thanks for coming back and the new comment.
    I think the problem is, when you leave your link back on a comment you link it back to your main page, where your new post shows but, nowhere on it to make a comment there. Instead of linking to your actual page where your post is displayed. As soon as I started reading down the side menu and saw that others had been able to leave a comment I knew there was a way to do it and so just clicked on the one that had already left a comment on that post. But, it sure is difficult to know where to find it if you don’t know you have to search for the right place.
    Hope that helps. :)

    • Thank you for getting back to me on this! I posted in the forums, but they weren’t very helpful unfortunately! I’ve since disabled “featured” posts for now, perhaps it will help in the future. :)

  6. Such beautiful use of language to capture an image so familiar but painted here so uniquely. This took me back to spring days as a child watching the flocks of crows gather in the lambing fields- I can hear their calls- their racket- your form was just excellent here- this had a very timeless, classic feel- like you could come back and read this in fifty years and still be blown away by it

  7. Ah, I figured it out. It’s because when I went to your blog I got the “featuring” post and not to the regular post. As a result, it wouldn’t let me comment on the “feature” . K.

  8. I can hear one of my professors reading this aloud in my head, which usually means it’s a pretty damn good poem. I certainly enjoyed “hearing” it. Amazing work!

  9. Eve, thanks fer stoppin by my poetry site…this poem has a wonderful voice, great use of language(word choice) and structure..the poem swoops and swoons rushes and
    halts. Very effective, through excellent word choice and changes in rhythm. Beautiful imagery…very nice poem am excited to read more of yer
    poetry
    and other work…thanks again and after reading your poetry I feel that much more honored

  10. A bird acting as a cutpurse is an interesting idea. If you’ve ever had to bat away a flock of seagulls (not the band) while trying to enjoy a beach lunch, you know what I mean. I loved this since I am constantly lost in thought when I look at birds. It also brings the Magic: The Gathering card “Thieving Magpies” to mind, poetry and card games; a deadly mix of awesome. Nice work!

    • Thanks Jace! I’m always spotting the birds outside my window; seems like the blackbirds have come out in full force this week, they’re chirping at all hours! :)

  11. The imagery is lovely and has an innocence about it, Eve, though the outcome is hardly so. I love so many of the phrases, like
    ‘you swivel, darling, there above the yew’
    and
    …’green after a week of un-taste.
    and of course the title is splendid!

    • Hello Diane, thank you ever so much for visiting and reading my poem! I really enjoyed writing this one, even with all this random weather we’ve been having lately! I suppose it inspired me a little. :) x

What do you think?

