Hive to Water


 
In the honeycombed, boney-silence,
where projections of flowers
under the guise of a bees bell of leggy amrita
the huddle and bury of laughter before
strands of milkwood buries within the thistle
the things we have never yet determined from glimpses
lost to the dark;
and if, by some wishbone happening,
should it fall to the river,
its many conflations, in silica, in bees,
born to love against the sage flurry in a fuzz,
you would hear, among the ages of ferns,
the thousand thick hum –
the bodies contained within
the jelly-thick flutings of the brooding hive,
the ‘we’re oh so ready and done for the year‘.

© Eve Redwater 2012


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

[It's taken a while to feel up to writing creatively again, but it's great to be back! Here's my contribution to DVersepoets Open Link Night - week 44. Hope you like it~]

50 thoughts on “Hive to Water

  1. Good to have you back, … Some of the lines here are up with your best( you know what they are!)… The whole piece felt like stumbling through a thick furze of riverside nature.

  2. I wondered why there was no email updates for you. Glad to have you back. Unlike your flowers or bees, I’m so not ready to have ‘done’ with the weather though…lol

  3. Hi Eve. This one makes me think of when I’m giddy exhausted, delirious enough to laugh at a potted plant. You know a little something about that, having just finished your dissertation :-) My favourites: “the huddle and bury of laughter/the thousand thick hum”

    • Thank you! It’s nice to be back, though I still feel like I need to get myself back into the more creative side of writing again, it’s a harder transition than I thought!

    • Hehe, well thank you for finding me! I’ve been away trapped within the less creative side of writing for far too long (a dissertation :P) Nice to be back though!

  4. In some ways your work, Eve, reminds me of a young Dylan Thomas. As he got older his poetry tightened up, and although still musical and firely creative, he managed to condense his lines into a shining of meaning.
    When he was young he stretched language and, sometimes, syntax, to the almost breaking point, creating a poetry that was so packed with allusions, language, and meaning that it was a life onto itself, burning into images that sang in a tongue that had never been heard before.
    You often pack language so densely with images that the reader is forced to go along for a ride that promises to be as wild as a roller coaster fling that fires up the synapses of the brain:
    In the honeycombed, boney-silence,
    where projections of flowers
    under the guise of a bees bell of leggy amrita
    But then you discipline the language and come up with an image:
    he thousand thick hum –
    the bodies contained within
    the jelly-thick flutings of the brooding hive,
    the ‘we’re oh so ready and done for the year‘.
    packed with an accessible meaning that leaves me, at least, amazed. This, as always, is good work.

    • Thomas, you words and analysis (a better word escapes me!) of my poem is so very much appreciated! Dylan Thomas is a man I’ve read many times, sometimes he leaves me stunned, others, confused, but I can’t deny that no matter what he makes me feel, the ending result is always awe. Such a talented and special voice he had; always with skill and power he wrote.

      Thank you for this! :D x

    • This reader needs a slow motion roller coaster, time to absorb the descriptive, difficult & didactic complexities which float throughout your writing style, Everedwater…

      • Thanks for following and I saw a nudge on Linked In – I got on that somehow some time ago, but don’t really use it and haven’t replied to anyone. I should figure it out, but I’ve been pretty busy. Thanks much. k.

        • My absolute pleasure! I’m not really one to used Linked In to be honest, nor do I understand it completely! But, I’m sure it’ll come in handy at some point, hopefully. :) x

  5. the things we have never yet determined from glimpses
    lost to the dark

    I love these lines- this idea, Eve.

    The whole poem is gorgeously written, I do truly enjoy your take on the natural way, you manage to maintain its inherent mystery while also offering up such vivid word pictures for us to enjoy.

    Glad to see you back to poetry writing.

  6. “In the honeycombed, boney-silence,
    where projections of flowers
    under the guise of a bees bell of leggy amrita…” These are just wonderful, Eve, and they’re only the beginning of your amazing word play and creativity! Oh, how I wish I had your ability! Hugs and glad you’re back! :)

  7. Once again, wonderfully written, Eve. Every line (every poem) is a joy full of ability and originality. I’ve been ‘away’ from blogging for a couple of weeks, but your poems are so refreshingly good.

  8. This is gorgeous, Eve….as other’s have said, your wordplay is great and I love the ending! I’ve missed reading your poetry! :)

What do you think?

