Impasse


 
Lavender, plum, where the apples yet sweet,
         and the rumble of cares long lost to the ears,
the earth, and all that was in the merry and the piebald
frost-bitten stripes of corn to the morning dew,
thrice and yet warmed to the sun’s shiveringly
quiveringly lovely gold dapple drunken harmony
         and there, where the stores of flowers
like the rugged memories,
the guttering of trees,
coppices, and natures’ bound to green, to grow
unselfish, to hew, we hew,
         we know no better.

© Eve Redwater 2012

This poor chap was hanging on to this lavender as the wind blew – bless! © Eve Redwater 2012

31 thoughts on “Impasse

  1. Just wonderful Eve! Love the word play as always; the see and saw of alliteration moving like a branch in wind, and my muse trying to land upon it. Can you imagine how fun it would be to watch a bird trying to land on a swinging branch. I have this kind of enlightened fun reading your work. The meter flying, the swaying alliteration, the joyous word play. Simply Lovely!!

  2. Hi! Lovely, for me this is almost like trip down memory lane, to the England of my childhood, where Vaughan Williams played everywhere in the background in lanes stuffed full of good things, beautiful, yet always with a tiny hint of menace haunting between the lines, somewhere. Lovely imagery – for someone so young, you seem to have an ‘old soul’ (no offence! :)). Perhaps we’re all old souls, if only we knew…

    • Hi Debra, I saved you from the depth of spam!

      Thank you for your thoughts! I wrote this one quite quickly, the words seemed to fit so I left them as is. :)

  3. And I follow my dear Louise with praise for your eye and ear for the beauty in Nature and words, S. Love, “natures’ bound to green, to grow unselfish, to hew, we hew, we know no better.” Brings sighs to my lips. :) xo ~ j

  4. so lovely! I do enjoy the way you guide me on a journey to sense and feel, deeper than the scene itself. Into everything that holds it together. this makes me exquisitely happy to read, dear one.

What do you think?

