Eve’s Check-In: Viva la Nature!


Hullo everyone!

How are you doing?

It’s been a busy couple of months for me, what with finishing my degree and moving back home. I’m in the process of applying for my Masters – fingers, thumbs and toes crossed for that!

Here’s a small collection my photography from my back garden in black and white (my favourite) for you to enjoy. I’m still learning, but that’s all part of the fun! Kudos and love to my mother who makes the flowers look as wonderful as they do. (Plus a couple of doggy pics  – aren’t they handsome?)

The top image has words from a recent favourite poem of mine: “Inversnaid” by Gerard Manley Hopkins. The poem details much the way I empathise with nature, and how sometimes, for better or worse, us humans intervene. It really is beautiful, so I urge you to take a peek.

Try reading it aloud in your best Scottish accent, I do! It’s great fun; plus it’s helped me memorise it.

For the poem see here: Inversnaid

For more on Hopkins see here: The Poet

Take care, with love,

Eve x

How does nature make you feel?

46 thoughts on “Eve’s Check-In: Viva la Nature!

  1. Eve, your photos are amazing and of course, your dog photos are adorable, too, from another dog lover! Also, Hopkins poem is beautiful and I feel like your writing is very similar~ :) xx

    • Glad you like my dog photos! I was ever so proud to catch Millie mid-bark, and Jodie, well… she sits up like that to get our attention – such a funny thing! I really love Inversnaid at the moment, I’ve been re-reading it constantly. :)

  2. Good luck with the Masters – I’m sure you’ll get there ! Nature ? I have a love for the sea – it’s power, the danger but also the constant, tranquil ebb and flow at the shore – the eternal (long before I was around and long after I’m gone) movement of the sea fascinates me. I spent some time at sea so I guess that’s where my love for it comes from :)

    • Cheers, here’s hoping!

      There’s something very mythical about the sea isn’t there? I find it fascinating how it’s so linked to the moon too, amazing stuff! Thank you Steve. :)

      • Speaking of sea imagery, Dylan Thomas uses it all the time. Try “Ballad of the Long-Legged Bait.” A long, pretty obscure poem, but fascinating. Also, have you tried Hopkins’ long poem “Wreck of the Deutschland”? I read that when I was working on my Master’s in English. I was getting over the flu at the time and I guess that made me susceptible because I lay on my bed while I was reading it and wept copiously.

        • I have read the Duetschland! I read that one not the other day, actually. The book I have of his poetry is rather old, and contains notes from Hopkins and various paraphrases including that poem – it’s really quite fascinating to learn all his tropes and coinages. :) Duetschland is so rich, so I think it will take a couple more readings to fully appreciate all his imagery; I also find it amazing how it was Hopkins’s first proper attempt at his sprung rhythm after his long abstention from writing. I find his rhythm fascinating and I learn something new from it every time! As for Dylan, I’ve read a few and enjoyed them immensely. I love how he was kind of a poetic “rock-star” in his day! He just wrote whatever he felt, and I really admire him for that.

  3. Wonderful photos, Eve! The way you’ve displayed them really sets them apart, too! It’s been a while since I’ve paid any due to Hopkins, and I’m going to change that! Very cool! And good luck, of course, with your continued education. Wonderful goals! Debra

    • Many thanks Debra! Glad you like them. It took me a while to sort them, deciding which ones to use… but I think they look okay. :) Ever since I picked up a book of his poetry for 99p, I’ve been pretty obsessed! He really is my favourite poet. x

  4. I love the way you posted the photos and think they work very well in black and white. And I’m going to try my best to do a Scottish accent even though I find it tres difficile…
    Best of luck for the MA. Wow!

    • Hello Rosie, thanks for reading!

      My Scottish accent is laughable, but like I say, much fun to memorise it with! :P
      Glad you like the piccies, too. It was fiddly trying to get them to obey and stay like that – happy they look okay!

  5. Loads of luck for your Masters, Eve! I do love that poem of Gerard Hopkins, but my own personal favourite of his, is the The Windhover ~ I just adore it :) Btw..I’ll try again to follow your blog…I don’t seem to get your posts for some reason :(

    • The Windhover is my favourite too Louise! My absolute favourite. And thank you for the luck, I’ll need it I think! It’s strange actually, I wasn’t getting updates from you either, but now I’ve stuck you back on my blogroll (pretty sure I’d already done that!), so I can keep up with you no problem. :)

  6. As much as I love color, there is something so satisfying about black and white (even movies), something that draws you in, like a leafy lane so inviting on a warm summer’s day. Or maybe its what’s left to the imagination. ‘Long live the weeds and the wilderness yet’ Wonderful words! The freedom to be is much of what nature means to me!

    Best of luck with pursuing your masters, Eve!

    • Black and white photography will always be my favourite I think, there’s just something quite mysterious about it – perhaps the details or the mood. Wonderful to hear your view, Diane, freedom indeed. :)

      And thank you very much x

  7. Firstly, best of luck with the masters. And excellent picture taking.

    Secondly, I do love nature but I do feel a conflict, given that I make things out of dead trees. And write on dead trees. I’m a little confused right now.

      • Ah! Respect! haha A point and shoot is definitely harder to achieve good shots with than a DSLR, but as a person who uses one as well, I can say that it sure gets the job done! :)

        • Aw, thank you! My sister bought me an SLR for my birthday/graduation present, so I’m still learning the ropes with that.

          As you can see though, I’ve not really been writing anything recently; I’m still trying to get my life in order, and to be honest, the creative juices have kind of dried up. I’m sure things’ll work out eventually though!

          • Well good luck on your pictures and your writing! I love both of them! :) I’m sure that the juices will come back once you have recovered from graduation and school! :)

What do you think?

