My Cadaver


Image credited to: Rob Brunskill - "Skeleton" - ink on cold press.

The dusty crow who knows my name does call, 
and sleeps as grave and sound as my lost soul- 
as time does ponder and rid me mortal role,
I but wander through this dead shameless hall. 
Begone the life, and love, with dying thirst- 
Who knows be true, with the shell I live in; 
leaving me alone, bleak, and left of skin,
my flesh was soft, but it died dead the first. 
Linking from the foot to bone, I bowed much less- 
and left me humble, where no man hast stepped- 
though know not I the rage, nor foul tempest, 
of jealousy, or putrid thought that crept; 

Lost... I am but naked hollow who dress,
the night with burbles I mighty wept.

Β© copyright Eve Redwater 2011

10 thoughts on “My Cadaver

  1. You are in an all hallow eve’s mood.
    πŸ™‚

    Trying to sing this in my head, and kept coming up well short.
    Ah well.
    I need to listen to more songs o’ the irish …but that’s mosting drinking songs…so that might be the problem right there.

      • I don’t know.
        Correct me if I am wrong, when I think of a sonnet I think of a poem then can be sung or was meant to be sung.
        12 -14 lines, in tempo right?

        So i tried to sing the lines … well sort of, as much as one can try singing about a rotting corpse. πŸ™‚

        I meant that I just couldn’t do it or don’t have the right tune in my head to fit it in.
        So its really me mind that isn’t co-operating. Hoping to fix that with dinner and beer. (though some might say that enough beer = dinner)

        Anyways, I didn’t mean that it (your poem) didn’t flow … just my thought process.

  2. No your right, it’s 14 lines, 10 syllables each. What I think I’ve overlooked is the rhythm – so that’s probably why it’s not flowing.

    However, it was my first go, so I know it’s far from being good.
    I’ll just have to try harder next time!
    Sonnets sure are tricksy~

    • Well better then anything I could come up with.
      All I got when thinking of song is well …lymericky / drinking songs πŸ™‚

      Which, tongue in cheek would go something like

      Oh, now my bones so very white
      no muscles nor sinew tied
      a woman, child or man
      death will claim all with an equal hand

      When you dice with death,
      You dice with Jack o’ the Shadows!

      And as i lay in a bed of moss
      lament that no more lovelies will I see
      no more tumbles to yearn or loss
      though a boner I surely be

      When you dice with death,
      You dice with Jack o’ the Shadows!

      Definitely no sonnnet. πŸ™‚

    • Hey there! Thank you for your kind comment! I’m not too sure where my inspiration comes from, I just tend to write down whatever my brain comes up with. I am interested in horror and such, so that would probably be my best guess! My poems may seem a little dreary, but I’m a rather happy person really, promise! πŸ˜›

What do you think?

