Upstairs, Ghosts Talk.


Fixing loose-curl auburn lockets, the pins embed
And turn again. Step, and forward sway the hipbone,
Thirty, forty, a flight of granite looming forward,
Front and back, past my skirt tail – laden laced, pearly

Quiet go the foot pads, front illuminations rest forgotten,
Past the small mouse scuffling four-paw: zigging, zagging 
Along the stair stage. Past the morning call in woodpecker
Tongue, squalls and loudly names the dawning. Softly,
I ascend the cold rough stairwell; 
	careful
Not to spend courage whole.

Wring the rusty thoughts of amorphous dreaming, eat the 
Bad thought before the stairwell – rubbish orts and morsels thin
Of single tipped barbs, and doubted quenching
	alas
Before they mean too much.

Wave with white hands a fare-thee-well, the apparition
That pauses; portentously grinding its nothing on the wall
Seemingly real the whitewash of nothing, he is voided
But lives existent in that other-world well,
Singing, and that much better for it.

Twitch the dreaming skull-bone loose, and question not,
As I mask my tooth-grin with knuckled fingers;
He spots me slinking past the wound in time
	and calls me closer,
So that I may meet him.

© copyright Eve Redwater 2011

18 thoughts on “Upstairs, Ghosts Talk.

  1. Decidedly spooky! Some lovely language here, too, ‘Wring the rusty thoughts of amorphous dreaming’ – wow! And a chilling ending, ‘… so that I may meet him’. Classic understatement, perhaps? Great photo too, dark, menacing.

  2. Wow. So glad I stumbled upon your blog. What a strong and haunting piece of poetry you’ve woven. Captivating.

    I especially liked this line, “careful Not to spend courage whole.”

    Six little words that weigh so much.

    • Hello! Thank you ever so much for your kind comment – you really made me smile. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed my poem, and I hope to see more of you here in the future. You’re always welcome!

    • Hello Erika, thank you for comment! I’m really glad you like it. I really enjoyed reading your poetry too, and I’ll make sure to keep tabs on your future posts. 🙂 I hope to see more of you ~ Eve

  3. Marvelous–I am swallowed by this one instantly. As someone whose courage is spent whole in the first instant of the smallest fear, I still love a vicarious shiver sprinkled on me in compelling story form, none more than this!

  4. Hi Eve. ‘scuffling four-paw’ and ‘woodpecker tongue’ are great. I like the ‘step by scary step’ feel of the poem and the idea of not spending all your courage in one place!!! Jane

What do you think?

