No Answer


Your impish, oily, freckled faces
were bright that night on Milton Road.
Where you made the cats claw doors
in a careless wailing stupor,

Of fear. Yes, the men in camper vans
rode in like the silvery knights, just
like the silver-fish that eat the floor-
the ones that chew and reproduce,

The parasites. The one's where society
has no qualms, decisions, answers;
and they sit in their bleak evenings: a 
little turret, waiting for anything,

To break down barriers. Like the doors,
Large holes in walls are not enough. 
Not large enough to house a bird, 
with sticks and bones instead of tongues, 
but, in their nests their children pinned,

Down are my legs and long arms kept. Where 
road and rocks they turned to flint, as the
morning siren soared. But by my sides, my arms 
stood still.

Nor did the 

Neighbours wail.

© copyright Eve Redwater 2012

27 thoughts on “No Answer

  1. Yes! This is exactly the sort of poem I wanted to read this morning. Your ending is superb – I always massively respect poets who can use a couple of words to end their poems well, leaving a taste of melancholy and mystery behind in the wake. Great work.

  2. That’s some very interesting description, especially with the image you included. I’ve been working on including pictures with more of my work. I think it really helps to bring out that description if you can capture it in photowork. Cool choice!

  3. Lovely poem, full of imagery that makes you stop and re-read each line, then re-read each stanza and finally re-read the poem. Your poetry is cerebral. That’s why I like it so.

  4. My mind resonates when I read this, each line contains such structure and vivid intent that it makes you want to read it again and again.

    The parasites. The one’s where society
    has no qualms, decisions, answers;
    and they sit in their bleak evenings: a
    little turret, waiting for anything,

    To break down barriers. Like the doors,
    Large holes in walls are not enough.

    The above lines are sublime, bleak evenings of discontent.

    Wonderful poem

  5. No photographer? Ha! I beg to differ. You have a great eye, are a terrific composer, and play with light in a way that always seems to complement your verbal imagery so fittingly. Great stuff. And I do like the poem here, too, by the way!

    • Thank you Kathryn, very kind of you to say! I’m starting to enjoy taking the pictures for my poems, as well as sourcing them. I think this picture might be a personal favourite, but I still maintain that I have a long way to go before considering myself competent!

  6. Excellent poem. Very cerebral and evocative. Not an easy, breezy read-through, but a hunker down and dissect this thing read. Makes me remember when I used to write poetry. I didn’t want everything to be explicit and handed out like candy to children. I’m very impressed.

    • Thank you very much, Russell! I’m really glad that you like it. I enjoy this kind of poetry on a personal level, so trying to emulate it is something I really work hard to do. 🙂

What do you think?

