The Paper Cutters


We had a penchant for trees,
the two of us, in younger days.
Filling paper cups with muddy
water, two vestal home-makers

Listening to the sky. Crushing 
berries and leaves between
two rocks that likened marbled 
floors, ones I saw and tripped upon

Long ago, when my feet were still
unsteady. I made our nest from
dented newspaper. Ones that told of
oncoming boons. Wars. Insecticide.

Making myself comfortable
in the crook of your arm. My dearest
sister. A partner in crime, if that were
even possible.

That tree was a hollowed brothel.
Where birds found mates in all their
numerousness. Where we found tiny 
skeletal feet: two squirrels in their last

embrace. 'Such beauty in the throws of 
death', you said, and cried for those
departed souls; while I mixed flowers,
grass and stones in the corner,

And blocked your wailing 
	with the collar of my shirt.

Β© Eve Redwater 2012

I selected this post to be featured on my blog’s page at www.poetryblogs.org.

(Posted for Dversepoets “Open Link Night”)
I felt inspired by everyone’s kind words from my “Hello!” post, so thank you! This is for you!

52 thoughts on “The Paper Cutters

  1. It’s not just that your flamboyant composition of prose already knocks my socks off, the pictures you post here are uh-may-zing as well. Fantastic job, seriously.

  2. OMG, Eve, this was so beautifully written, it brought tears to my eyes, and the photo of the tree complements it so perfectly. Absolutely lovely. ~ Julie

  3. wow deeply evocative and finely layered….the nest of newsprint foretelling wars…and the comfort of together but the muffled wailing at the end…quite the journey in your words with wicked flow as well…

    • Hello Kathleen!
      Thank you for checking it out! It’s still a work in progress, but I’m really glad that you like it. πŸ™‚
      It’s my first attempt at something like that; perhaps in the future I’ll edit it into something a little more streamlined, but for now I think it captures my thoughts well enough!

      A lovely day to you, too!

  4. love all the details..the crushing berries and leaves…partners in crimes and then the awesome ending with blocking the wailing with the shirt collar…fine textures in this

  5. Hi Stacy,
    Once again I find my self frustrated for not yet being able to understand, what I sure is beautiful.
    The only thing I can tell you is the feeling I get when I read. I feel the past in me well up of memories of old…Good ones.
    I do hope you are having a most wonderful day!
    Hugs, Deb xx

    • Hi there Deb!
      That’s fantastic that you can ‘feel’ something from reading it, that makes me so happy! This poem is based off some old memories of mine from my childhood. πŸ™‚
      I hope you’re having a great day too!

  6. Magnificent! I was transported back to the field behind my house where my brothers and I lived in the summer, eating berries and drinking instant iced tea that we pilfered from the house in our makeshift home. Great and powerful memory of the skeletal squirrels and the emotions that were felt.

    • Thank you very much CL!

      This poem is based off a similar memory of mine, it seems to have triggered memories in other readers too, including yourself. πŸ™‚ It’s quite fascinating to me actually! Thank you for commenting~

  7. I had such a strong response to this. I was instantly taken back forty years to my grandparents house with my sister and brother.
    I see from your words that awesome bond between siblings, those tendrils that tie us to one another. Secrets we share, Things we saw…things we Did. Hehehe.
    Wonderful post!

    • Thank you for commenting Polly! It’s always lovely to hear your thoughts! It still staggers me that this poem reminds so many people of their childhoods, it’s really something! πŸ˜€

    • Hello Brian! Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it! Thank you for liking my poem. πŸ™‚ I really like your site’s design by the way!

  8. I just think you’re amazing, Eve. I love everything you do…and I am NOT just saying that. LOL! There is a temptation to always be supportive of other bloggers, but you are so beyond “blogging” –you are an artist. I predict big things. Debra

    • Hello Debra, I hope you are well! Thank you so much for your support! Your words are so encouraging, especially since I’ve been feeling a little “off” lately… Honestly, I remembered these words whenever I’ve been writing this week, and they really helped. πŸ™‚ Really, from the bottom of my heart, thank you! x

  9. Beautiful, beautiful. It is especially endearing because I have a sister whom I treasure even more now than when we were in our mischievous youth. Not so much specifics but the feelings and intimacy in this echo what she and I shared and still share. Thank you for your visit which led me here and to read this lovingly and well-written poem.

  10. Faded, wadded, crushed, crumpled, torn, discarded, forgotten….every adjective imaginable. And all worn. But, “dented”? It stopped me dead. I read it again. And I smiled. Now, that description alone qualifies this poem. You are good. Really good.

    • Hello George, lovely to have you visit! Thank you so much for this, such a wonderful thing to say. πŸ™‚ I’m really glad that you like this poem, thank you for taking the time to read it!

      I hope you stop by again!

What do you think?

