The Painters Wife


Dark well

She painted him a thousand years
of faces,

He left with her a copper
in his stead,

Wait did they a thousand years
in places,

And writ there was a contract
of the dead.

Take with him a thousand years
of paintings,

Drop did she the copper in
a well,

Wait did they a thousand years
in patience,

Until the moon in sky did
swell.

Now he waits a thousand years
in places,

Now she moves among the
living dead,

The painters wife, she took those
faces,

and dropped

                     them

In your sleeping bed.

© copyright Eve Redwater 2011

10 thoughts on “The Painters Wife

  1. That was very fun! I wish I could get into your head and see how things get put together in there! On the possible side, could you tell me how you did the dropped part of your poem?

    • Haha, not even I know how things get cooked up in there; but I like the way they make their way onto the page! I did the “dropped” part with some VERY messy HTML coding! It’s not pretty, but it got the job done!

What do you think?